## THE SWAINSBORO KIWANIAN September 29, 2015 Installation Night



With President Tim Goodman presiding, the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Kay Peacock and the blessing was given by Dess Smith. We had 25 members in attendance. Our guests for the evening were Mary Ann Peebles, Caroline Canady, Lt. Governor George Elkins, and Lt. Governor-elect Byron Mullican.

Lt. Governor Elkins gave us an update on Division 17. Division 17, for the 4<sup>th</sup> year in a row, is a Distinguished Division, and is one of only two Divisions in the Georgia District that was distinguished. Seven of the eight clubs in the Division 17 are Distinguished Clubs, including the Swainsboro Kiwanis Club. The Division also expanded membership by sponsoring the new Tattnall County Club (we are now nine).

**Announcements:** The Tattnall County Kiwanis Club Charter night in scheduled for October 22. Those wishing to attend need to let President-Elect Jane Durden know so we can make reservations. We have run timings on October 3 in Tennille and October 10 in Wrightsville. Contact President Tim if you wish to help.

President Tim inducted two new members with the help of their Kiwanis sponsors. Inducted were Delaine Maglioli, sponsored by Jane Durden, and Audrey West, sponsored by Linda Lamb.

President Tim gave special service recognitions to Edwin Canady, Jane Durden, Jim Daughtry, Chip Durden, Cheryl Goodman, L.H. Weise, Frank Patrick, Patricia Coleman, Kay Peacock, Bobby Seamans, Dess Smith, Jim Clapham, Linda Lamb, Deana Patrick, Bobby Peacock, Bobbie Daughtry, Gary Couse, and Annette Evans. A special Legion of Honor award was given to Roger Peebles for 35 years as a Swainsboro Kiwanian.

Usually only one Kiwanian-of-the-Year award is presented annually but because of the great year, President Tim presented Kiwanian-of-the-Year awards to Dess Smith, for his stellar publicity, Frank Patrick, for his help with the all the Kiwanis events, and Jane Durden, for her coordination of the Centennial events for the year.

Lt. Governor-Elect Mullican recognizing the officers leaving the Board and inducted new officers; Jane Durden – President, Gary Couse – President-Elect, Jim Clapham – Vice President, Edwin Canady – Secretary, Travis Garrett – Treasurer, and Cheryl Goodman, Kay Peacock, Linda Lamb, Deana Patrick, Sheila Metz, and Dess Smith – Board members. The gavel was transferred to President Jane Durden, who closed the program.









The Hersey-bar cake, donated and baked by Petite Garrett, brought \$48 and was won by L.H. Weise. Cheryl Goodman won the pizza, donated by Chris Cann. Table centerpieces were won by Tim Goodman, Sheila Metz, Deana Patrick, Delaine Maglioli, Mary Ann Peebles, and Bobbie Daughtry. The head table centerpiece was won by Bobby Peacock.

The Swainsboro Kiwanian (USPS 530-500). Published weekly by the Swainsboro Kiwanis Club, P.O. Box 3, Swainsboro, GA 30401-0003. Issue Date: September 29, 2015. POSTMASTER: Send PS Form 3579 to Swainsboro Kiwanis Club, P.O. Box 3, Swainsboro, GA 30401-0003. Periodicals postage paid at Swainsboro, GA 30401.